What is Trash in WordPress?


What is: Trash
Ollie Reyes

Trash in WordPress is like the Recycle Bin on your PC or Trash in your Macintosh computer. Users with the proper permission level (administrators and editors) have the ability to delete a post, page, and/or comments. When you delete the item, it is moved to the trash folder where it will remain for 30 days. This allows you, the user, to restore any item that you might have deleted accidentally. After 30 days, the item will be automatically and permanently deleted from your WordPress database. Trash functionality was added in WordPress 2.9 to reduce the chances of accidental deletion of items.

WordPress.com
Krystyna Pantoja

When you delete a post, page, or comment from your blog, it will be moved to the Trash folder. You have separate trash folders for posts, pages and comments. This feature makes it extremely difficult to accidentally delete a post or page from your WordPress.com blog. Items within your trash folders can be restored or permanently deleted within 30 days of their original trashing.

WordPress.org
Ma Gentile

From the post/page/comment edit list page, ‘Trash’ is one of the view options. (Sometimes it only appears if there are Trashed items.)
When you click to see the ‘Trash’ view, the list will be filtered to show only items in the Trash.
A ‘Restore’ quicklink is shown below each item, you can restore the item from the Trash by clicking this link. Alternatively you can bulk-restore by selecting items with the checkbox and choosing the restore option from the pull-down menu.

What is: Trash?
Delia Gonzales

Just as you might expect, the “trash” option in WordPress is where you can place files that you no longer need. If you’re used to using a Windows operating system on your computer, the WordPress trash option functions just like the Recycle Bin. If you’re using a Macintosh operating system, the WordPress trash is just like the Trash on your computer.

WordPress.org
Taylor Hodges

What happens to entries moved to trash? Do they expire and get automatically removed? Or do they stay forever adding to the database size?
Because I found no option to manually (permanently) delete the trashed entries.
(It would be a useful feature for future updates)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*